The Epic NYC Trip

I miss NYC already…but I’m excited to be home and share our adventure. As soon as I came home from my last NYC trip in December, I was already planning this one. Jami (@ihavefallonfeva), Jeanette (@JeanetteMarie21) and I have been tweeting since last September yet never met. So we decided it was time to get together and take a journey to Jimmy-Town. We met up in St. Louis and flew together to NYC. The weather was horrendous! Jami had never flown (which is why we accompanied her) and even though I’ve been flying all my life the turbulence was freaking me out. We are so lucky we got there w/o a delay. We had heard so many flights were cancelled b/c of storms and 65 mph wind gusts.

So we get to the hotel and settle in, then head to 30 Rock. Normally I can handle walking 10 blocks, but we trecked in the rain and wind storm, stepping in puddles and arrived at 30 Rock drenched up to our knees and hair looking disasterous. So please keep that in mind when viewing our pics. We were not looking our best. I tried blow drying my hair under the hand drying machines in the basement…didn’t help.

While waiting for SNL to finish, we watched it on the tv at the NBC security desk.Β  About half way through, we notice Jimmy, his wife, Nancy, Drew Barrymore and Jason Mraz stroll in and stand next to us at the desk. We took some pics with Jimmy and talked to him for a few minutes before he went up the elevators. Then we went outside and waited for the SNL cast. Jami told Samberg “Happy Birthday to the ground” and he said it back. She also yelled “10 SECONDS MACGRUBER” to Will Forte and he playfully came over to us. Forte is so amazingly nice and talked to us for about 10 minutes. Such a genuine, sweet guy.

Unfortunately, we didn’t see Abby Elliott, Bill Hader or Fred Armisen, but the others were way cool.

The tapings were a blast! Yes, we went to 3 of them and I DO NOT recommend doing that. You are only supposed to go once every 6 months. We totally got busted the 3rd night, mainly b/c the first 2 nights we sat in the front row behind Shoemaker and Gavin, and there is a security guy there the whole show. Well, he remembered us. Thankfully, they didn’t kick us out. Oops.

Anyway, Monday night was good. Jimmy recognized us from Saturday night and shook my hand and said “hey pal!” (love it when he calls people “pal”). They showed the next eppy of LATE. It’s hysterical watching Jimmy behind the scenes. He was mouthing his words and looked so excited when something funny was coming up. It’s like he couldn’t wait to hear the audiences reaction. We had met Frank Knuckles (from The Roots) earlier before the show, so after the show was over, he gave us signed drumsticks. Way cool guy!

The second night was the most fun! The energy was there and The Roots killed it! Before the show, they ran through the audience with their instruments and jammed out. During a commercial break, Jimmy walked over to talk to Mike Shoemaker and Gavin Purcell (the producers) and looked up and recognized me again! He looked at Shoemaker and said “This is iheartjimmynet!”…so Mike says “oh yeah, hi!” and shook my hand as well as Gavin. Then Jami says “And I’m ihavefallonfeva!”, so then they all shook hands (including Jimmy). THEN Jeanette says “Well I’m their friends!” so THEY all shook hands. Then Jeanette’s sisters says “And I’m HER sister!” ….and yes, all shook hands. Then Shoemaker says “I’m Mike…and I sit next to Gavin.” It was hilarious. They were so nice and it was just a cool moment.

Tuesday night, we went out with Wayne Federman. He used to write for LNwJF and always opens for Jimmy’s stand up shows. He was very cool and we had fun getting a little gossip out of him. πŸ˜‰ He then brought us to The Slipper Room where Seth Herzog (the warm up guy on LNwJF) hosts a comedy show with Horatio Sanz. There were probably less than 100 people there since it’s an intimate bar, which I thought was great. Herzog is hysterical! I definitely recommend seeing one of his shows. He does them every Tuesday. He and his mom go on stage and do a fun bit too. John Mulaney was the last performer. He is an SNL writer, and was very funny. After the show we got pics with Horatio who suggested going to Upright Citizens Brigade (UCB), a comedy club opened by Amy Poehler. We didn’t get a chance to go, but I’ve heard great things about it.

I’m sure there are more things I want to share, but at this point, I’m drawing a blank. Apologize for the shaky filming. I tried not to make it obvious I was taping, but as you can see, people noticed it anyway. ha!

Thanks Jami, Jeanette and Spatty for making this a memorable trip!

And thank you to Jimmy. You have brought me new friendships and memories to cherish always. πŸ™‚

    • jami
    • March 19th, 2010

    OH MY GEOSH LORI!!! That brought a tear to my eye! Very nice job capturing the fun of our trip!

    • Nicole
    • March 19th, 2010

    What an awesome trip! I’m so glad all of you girls had so much fun. : D

    • Joy
    • March 19th, 2010

    I got more jealous every second that that video played. If you ever do this another year (lets say…2013?…yeah 2013 sounds good :p) CAN I COME?!?!?!?!?!

    • Julia
    • March 19th, 2010

    Girls, that seemed so much fun! I’m really happy for you, you guys really deserved having a good time πŸ™‚
    Thanks so much for sharing all the experience with those (us) that couldn’t be there! πŸ˜€

    • jeanette
    • March 19th, 2010

    aww lori this was soo awesome!!! i’m really glad i got to experience this trip with u and jami! πŸ™‚ truly epic!!!

    • kiley
    • March 19th, 2010

    That video was awesome. Looks like you guys had an amazing time.

    • Kayla
    • March 19th, 2010

    Wow!! Your trip looked so amazing!! Great video!! You girls are so gorgeous and looks like you had a blast!

    • Cindy
    • March 19th, 2010

    LOri that was so awesome loved reading the blog and the video was sweet! I am so happy for ya! Very jealous as well hehe, but soooooooo happy! Good stuff girl!!!

  1. Looks like you had an awesome trip! Loved the video Lori! My fav part was at beginning when you guys took pics with Jimmy…….. I’m so jealous πŸ™‚

    • Akura
    • March 19th, 2010

    Pretty epic trip. Glad you guys got to meet everyone you did. Makes me wanna organize a trip like that with the youngsters a few years down the road.

      • Nicole
      • March 20th, 2010

      Hold on, youngsters? Alright then.

    • Melissa
    • March 20th, 2010

    This video is AMAZING! You guys look like you had soo much fun. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    • Erin
    • March 20th, 2010

    that’s so awesome you guys! i love the video, its so sweet πŸ™‚ i’m glad you guys had a great time! representing the jimmy fans very classily!

    • Erin
    • March 20th, 2010

    btw, next time you go, i wanna come too! πŸ™‚

    • Shauna
    • March 21st, 2010

    love this story!! you all had an amazing trip πŸ™‚ so happy for you

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

