Shauna’s Vancouver Encounter

Shauna is one of our readers and twitter friend who lives in Vancouver. This morning (early, early morning), she had her first encounter with Jimmy Fallon. This is her story.


So this morning made today the best day of my entire life! I feel extremely grateful for being able to meet Jimmy Fallon, im just so happy! 🙂
When I first saw him, he was on his way up to the peak via the tram. While I was waiting on the platform, I overheard that Jimmy was inside the gondola at that moment. I peered through the fogged window and tapped then suddenly a hand wiped the glass and there he was smiling and waving! I honestly could not believe it was actually him! He loved my poster! I asked him if I could go on the tram with him but it was too late, it had pulled away. That was the fastest three minutes of my entire life! I had just seen him behind glass, and I was already so delighted. When I got to the top of the mountain I found out that Jimmy’s segment was going to be outside. So I waited outside for an hour and a half not being able to feel my toes! Soon enough he returned!! When he first came out he immediately saw my poster and ran up to me! I could not believe it! He was so happy to see me with my poster. He gave me such a nice big, warm hug! I took a photo with him and chatted, then he got in a snowball fight with Matt Lauer. After filming his segment on the Today Show he went out of his way to acknowledge the fans. I took a couple more pictures. It was hard to find words to say to him. I can’t express strongly enough how kind he was towards his fans. He is a such a nice person. Several people came up to me and said, “Do you know him?! He ran right up to you!”. He could tell I was such a big fan of his so he went out of his way to make me happy! When he was finished he said goodbye and went back inside the lodge. I was on my way down to the tram and I saw him AGAIN! So…I followed him lol and he was with Ben Mulroney host of CTV’S eTalk and Canadian Idol. They went to the ice rink and played out a one on one hockey game (Jimmy wearing a Team USA Kesler jersey!) After that he was leaving so I said my final goodbye to him and told him to tweet me!! I’m still trying to comprehend everything that happened this morning because it just seems so surreal! I dont think I have ever been this happy in my entire life! I have always anticipated how great it would be to meet him, it was even better than I could have ever imagined. I was so happy to be able to communicate with you and other fans on twitter. It made it even better to share the moments and have all of your positive messages! I wish I could have shared these amazing moments with everyone I know, especially you! It really has been the best day of my life. Thank-you Jimmy Fallon! 🙂

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Thanks so much for sharing your amazing experience, Shauna!

    • Melissa
    • February 25th, 2010

    This is amazing. Just knowing how nice and friendly Jimmy is to his fans gives me butterflies. I’m soo soo happy for Shauna! and I really like that poster too.

    Random side comment: I think this story of the encounter is really well written haha

    • jami
    • February 25th, 2010

    Awesome story!! I’ve never heard of anyone having a BAD jimmy encounter! We EFFIN LOVE you Jimmy Fallon!!

    • Shauna
    • February 25th, 2010

    Thank-you so much for posting this Lori! It means a lot to me! Your so kind. What an amazing encounter. I will never forget it!!

    @Melissa thank-you! It just kind of came out that way! 🙂
    @jami :)!!!!

    • Nicole
    • February 25th, 2010

    I know I’ve told you this like a bajillion times already Shauna, but I am so flippin’ happy for you! I’m so glad you got a chance to meet him. So exciting! ❤

    • Kayla
    • February 26th, 2010

    Oh my gosh that is beyond awesome!! How crazy is it that he’s the one who looked out of the window you knocked on?!?! I’m so giddy for you! So cool.

    • Akura
    • February 26th, 2010

    Awww, this is the sweetest story ever!! He really is the best. ❤

    • Julia
    • February 27th, 2010

    This was SOOOO sweet! Jimmy’s just the greatest! 😀

    • Shauna
    • February 26th, 2011

    i still cant believe this story is real!!! 1 year 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

